No Strings Attached

Saw it: In theaters and on Netflix

Rating: 9/10

This movie is undoubtedly the best romantic comedy I’ve ever seen. It is a thoroughly enjoyable film with great writing and great acting (for the most part). Natalie Portman really makes the film. I didn’t give this film 10/10 because I felt that Ashton Kutcher, although great for the majority of the movie, kind of falls apart in some of the more serious scenes. Other than that he does a great job, but it’s really Natalie Portman that makes this film so much fun. She’s proved that she’s incredibly versatile as an actress. I rarely marvel at the acting in romantic comedies, as I generally focus more on the story, but here I couldn’t help but fall in love with her character and how great she was in that role. Even if this movie didn’t have as great of an actress as Portman in the female lead, the movie would have been successful regardless because it’s very well written. The humor is vulgar but mostly clever, and I was laughing hysterically even during the opening scene. I’m going to go out on a limb, and say that the resolution scene at the end of the movie is the best I’ve ever seen (and I’ve seen a LOT of romantic comedies…something I’m not particularly proud of). This movie is literally the perfect romantic comedy, as it has crude enough humor for most guys to enjoy, and an extremely powerful romantic ending that most girls will enjoy (that’s right, I just stereotyped men and women). I enjoyed all of the movie, because of the chemistry between Kutcher and Portman as well as their acting, the acting of the supporting cast and because of Elizabeth Meriwether’s wonderful writing.

Posted on 12/29/2011, in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

