Midnight In Paris

Saw it: In theaters and on Netflix

Rating: 9.5/10

If you haven’t seen this movie, you should definitely see it. I loved this movie. To be completely honest, if I had seen it before my junior year english class, I would have been very lost and I probably wouldn’t have liked it as much. But, lucky for me, I had just learned all about F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest¬†Hemingway, and Cole Porter so I understood most of the references in the movie. The acting was great all around and the story was captivating, what more could you ask for? I loved how everything in the movie seems so normal and natural until Owen Wilson appears to travel back in time to his golden era. I’m glad they didn’t try to explain how the time travel worked; they needed to do something sci-fy-ey but they didn’t fool around with any flux capacitors. He gets into an old car and just seems to melt into the past. Technically, this film is a romantic comedy, but it’s really only good for a chuckle here and there. It’s not hysterical, but it doesn’t try to be; it relies on more subtle wit and “ahh, I see what they’re doing!” moments, which really makes the film. Not only is this film enjoyable during the ride, it has a great message that’s really thought provoking. I think it’s safe to say that nearly everybody has felt like they were born in the wrong generation at one point or another, and this film does a great job of addressing that notion. The film insists upon living in the moment, and not getting caught up in the past. In the film, Owen Wilson gets so wrapped up in his trips to the past, he fails to notice that his wife is cheating on him with the insufferably pretentious, “sudo-intellectual” friend of hers. From Woody Allen’s directing to the cast’s acting, this movie is fantastic.

About Reel Good Reviews

Some call me a legend. Others call me a boss. Most just call me Patrick. If you're struggling to choose between the three, you're best bet is Patrick.

Posted on 12/29/2011, in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

